Ok! I Give up….. I can’t read!

9 Comments

For those who know what I am talking about, I am so glad you remembered! For the rest of you, I wonder if you will even realize it if I disappear from the blogging world! 🙂

I have serious reading issues. I am not able to finish a book. I start, I reach half way through, but that zest to complete the book is absolutely lacking. I have no idea what has gone wrong. I used to finish books like the ones I am currently reading in a day itself. Now its been three months. I just don’t seem to be getting bit by the reading bug these days.

This is how my reading curve has been. Before marriage, at least four in a month. After marriage till my kids were both above the age of five, a book a year. After that I get this ON and OFF phase, where I would finish up to six books in a month and read none the next few . Then again a month of 6 books… and the cycle continues.

Maybe its that every time the bug bit me, it was when I came across a must read book. I somehow don’t seem to find anything interesting to read these days. The indian authors, say the same things again and again and again. Even in the book that I mentioned in my last post, I have come across a lot of stereotyping. I am not too sure, if I want to read such judgmental books. Its also a wee bit confusing. I am thinking that all of it will make sense when the book ends. Isn’t that supposed to be a motivation to complete the book! Apparently , it isn’t for me! What am I going to do? If I can’t get myself to finish books I start, I might as well stop reading altogether!

How about you guys? Do you face this problem too? Or, is there a book that you can recommend that will make me sit up and read it completely in four hours or less? If you do, please do let me know!

As of now, I am stuck!

Tomorrow is my daughter’s Birthday. Her father is away this year and I have to work double hard to make it a memorable one for her.

Hoping that her smiles and questions never end, and hoping that every mother gets blessed with a daughter like her. Happy Birthday to my sweetheart.

9 thoughts on “Ok! I Give up….. I can’t read!

  1. Happy Birthday to daughter dear! Now about the books, it has been a few months I last touched a book. The only reading I do these days is magazines and blog posts and of course some Bible…Life spins…

    Like

  2. 1stly wishes for your daughter :)As far as reading is concerned, u know me. I read anyhow! But there will be phases when u r unable to read & in such times just stop reading. If you really love reading books will attract you back towards them 😉 And don't give too much though to why u r unable to read. Chill! Hota hai, books hi to hain!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. @Melange – I guess so. 🙂 Thank you.@Bikram – I loved to read. And hence the anxiety. 🙂 Thank you. :)@NRIGirl – Thank you. 🙂 He he… I guess so. @Smita – Thank you. 🙂 Yes, books hi to hai!

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday to your daughter.I managed to read a book on my vacation ….blessing :)))) You need to turn off internet and TV……

    Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

