Oh the Spam!

10 Comments

Everyday I am deleting at least 10 comments from my spam folder. The worst part is I have to check the spam often, because twice in the short span since I started this blog, I have had two normal comments go into spam!

I love wordpress, I really do. But I never faced this problem with Blogger. Blogger just swallows comments altogether or sometimes doesn’t let people comment at all! When I had tried shifting to my own domain too I had the same issues with spam. That was worse! By the end of three months, I was reading and deleting 40+ spam comments in a day! It was getting to be a very cumbersome effort!

None of the comments are bad. They are basically marketing gimmicks. It is so easy to identify these. But honestly, some of them praise my blog so much, that I feel like deliberately approving those spams. Who doesn’t like being complimented! Even if it is just some machine somewhere sending these out without even reading my posts!

I know I am not supposed to hope bad things on others, but I am sincerely hoping that you too get these kind of comments. A certain sadistic pleasure in knowing that I am not suffering alone! 😦

10 thoughts on “Oh the Spam!

  1. lol!!! Bloggers Smap system is pretty good as only spam goes in spam, very rarely does a genuine comment land there.
    And why sad re so many spam means you are popular πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. same here.. I visit my spam folder once or twice a week thats it ..
    and they all say how my blog is the best and or they want to sell me stuff ..

    but as you say i do find some genuine ones too but that happens rare now ..

    Like

  3. You are not the only one with the spam trouble. I check my spam folder in blogger and its full of those marketing stuff or all sorts of anonymous comments. I even got some people saying Lady gaga is a b***h and you are one..etc etc. Gets annoying at times.

    Like

    • Glad to know πŸ˜€ Yeah I think I got a similar one last year. In blogger you can block anonymous comments. WordPress doesn’t allow anonymous comments. Thank God for small mercies. πŸ™‚

      Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

