7 Quotes that speak to me

36 Comments

As part of the Festival Of Words at Write Tribe.

20130826-093652.jpg

A post a day for 7 days this week. Festival of words begins today.

7 quotes that speak to me :

1. “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”
― Dr. Seuss

There was a time when I used to get irritated when someone said this to me. But as age progressed , I realized that being happy is what actually counts. Things always happen for a reason. Presumably good ones. 🙂

2. “I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”
― Marilyn Monroe

This is the attitude that I adorned after I realized that perfection is just a myth. 

3. “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”
― Robert Frost

Never take life seriously. Whatever happens good or bad, it is not going to last forever. Change is the only constant. And life goes on , no matter what.

4. “It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.”
― André Gide, Autumn Leaves

People need to understand that life is not about being ‘like’ someone else. It is about liking who we really are.

5. “Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.”
― Albert Einstein

There are no breaks in life. You either move ahead happily or sulk ahead. Time doesn’t stop for anyone.

6. “I speak to everyone in the same way, whether he is the garbage man or the president of the university.”
― Albert Einstein

This is something that I really appreciate in people. We are all equal in the eyes of God. Unless of course, he/she is a criminal and deserves to die.

7. Where there is love there is life.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

This is the most important thing in life. Life cannot move on with compromises and adjustments. Life moves on only with love. And to love others, we must first love ourselves.

36 thoughts on “7 Quotes that speak to me

  1. Great quotes there. The most difficult thing for people, however, is that – Self-acceptance and loving one’s own self. Most people need the touch-stone of other people’s belief/respect to respect themselves and that is probably the main reason for misery.

    Like

    • Very well said Suresh. This is indeed the reason for misery. We wait for acceptance and approval from others. These help us , no doubt. But there comes a time when we have to overcome this need and be our own critique or well wisher.

      Like

  2. Nice collection of quotes Jyothi, I almost agree with all the quotes you’ve listed. The quote which I liked the most is by Robert Frost – “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”

    Like

  3. Where there is love there is life – M.K.Gandhi. the apostle of peace is absolutely right.
    Perfection is a myth and I too realized that a bit late in life. Hope everybody follows A.Einstein’s quote of speaking equally to everyone. A bouquet of nice quotes on a Sunday morning. Keep it up.

    Like

  4. And check records, Jyo.. I am the seventh blogger to like your post 🙂 although Gandhi is not a favourite, his quote makes sense and so does the bicycle balancing act and the life goes on .. 🙂

    Like

  5. Wow Jyothi…loved all the quotes which we have heard so many times over the years, but the way that you have explained how the quotes speak to you is beautiful. Thanks 🙂

    Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

