Colour Me Impressed

13 Comments
Pookalam

Happy Onam

It was always about his choice. Even when we were in college he was like that. He would rate the dresses I wore on a scale of 1 to 5. He would say ” this colour doesn’t suit you”. He had a particular disliking for Brown on me. I don’t know why, but he liked the Golden Brown blouse that I wore with the Onam saree on our first Onam in college.

The Pookalam was beautiful that day. The floral carpet was mostly Orange and Yellow. Marigolds smell so nice. The entire room was filled with the lovely fragrance of those flowers that day. That was the day he came into my life like a breath of fresh air. Never did I imagine that I would become his bride one day.

Now what is he going to say if I wear White clothes as I am being told to? They say colours have no meaning in my life anymore. What should I do?

What will suit my sadness dear? Would the off white of the Onam Saree do? Would you rate me at 5 again then? Please, just one last time!

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda. (Use 5 Colours)

Pic Courtesy : http://www.trekearth.com/gallery/Asia/India/East/Orissa/Bhubaneswar/photo464354.htm

Enhanced by Zemanta
13 thoughts on “Colour Me Impressed

  1. Sad …but in many cases true … I am happy that gradually this practice is fading away … it is so cruel…to a person who has already lost so much in life u take away the colours also… reminding her always what she has lost

    Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

