A glass of water

31 Comments
A glass of water

A glass of water

The question for the day is :

Do you see the glass as half full or half empty?

It all boils down to the state of mind during the event that I am judging positively or negatively.

If I am facing problems that are beyond my control , nothing can make me feel optimistic about the situation. Yes, I adjust and move along. But thinking about the positivity in it never works for me. I agree once the problem is solved, it seems like it was not that big a problem after all. But when you are going through it, it becomes difficult to become philosophical or even joke about it.

There is an advantage though that comes with experience. We already know a little about what the outcome of the situation can be the next time. Hence we braze ourselves with plans to tackle any or either of the outcomes. Every event can have only two basic outcomes after all . They can either fail or they can become a success. So I guess it is all about being in the proper state of mind.

I am mostly termed as a carefree person. I don’t worry unnecessarily about things. But if something worrying happens then everything around begins to add fuel to it. Situations go out of hand and I am left feeling totally lost and alone. I believe in the past year I have grown out of this hyper active tension and worry situation. No problem is too big, no issue is unsolvable. It is basically a state of mind ( yeah , I used this phrase three times, so sue me!). If we learn to accept a situation as is, then the issue is solved once and for all. I believe it is us who change and adjust to situations. It rarely happens that the situation changes leaving us a happier lot. Happiness always comes from within. It is all about how we react to situations and how much we let situations effect us.

So yes, most of the time I see the glass as half full. Sometimes I see it as half empty and add in my tears and sorrows to try and make it full. A wasted effort I guess, but whatever helps me get through the day.

What about you? Is the glass half empty or half full in your life right now?

NaBloPoMo December 2013

Picture Courtesy : SuperiorSilkScreen

31 thoughts on “A glass of water

  1. Well, I’m the engineer in this scenario. I’m the same way and perhaps the only reason I’ve ever gotten upset lately has been related to me getting my opportunity to write. Some of it pays some of it doesn’t which is at the core of that stress so if I can’t write for pay for a reason that is out of my control, I’ll be upset for a second and then try to manuever my way through it. Actually, one other thing is when I don’t know where to start with something I’m writing. Especially when I’m doing research of have no sense of narrative. I have to constantly drive myself through that.

    Like

  2. My glass has been half full for quite a while now and will continue to be so for my time on God’s green earth. I have always believed that I have been blessed with such a good life in comparison to the thousands and millions of people who don’t even get one square meal a day.

    Nice thought provoking post πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. I’ll say half full. Recent happenings in my life has made me realize that worrying does not help at all. Looking at the positive aspect of the situation is always good. Yes, I do go through worrying moments but the trick is to snap out of it. Also, responding instead of reacting to a problems helps too, to see the glass full!

    Like

  4. ” Sometimes I see it as half empty and add in my tears and sorrows to try and make it full. A wasted effort I guess,” – Wonderfully said. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. ” So yes, most of the time I see the glass as half full. Sometimes I see it as half empty and add in my tears and sorrows to try and make it full. A wasted effort I guess, but whatever helps me get through the day.” – So beautifully said.. As for me, I mostly see things on positive side..

    Jyothi, I have nominated you for Liebster Award from my blog. Hope you would accept it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. It’s just right at this moment Jyothi! I’m loving every minute and I’m blessed to have wonderful people around me who make sure that the glass is always just right. πŸ™‚

    As Corinne says, Life is good and I’m loving it πŸ™‚
    Touchwood!

    Like

  7. Most of the time I see the glass as half full. Sometimes I see it as half empty and add in my tears and sorrows to try and make it full…… Guess ‘m also the same… I see it half full and sometimes half full… depends upon the mood and situations… Nice take on the prompt πŸ™‚

    Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

