Package Delivered

20 Comments
Package Delivered

Package Delivered

Busy with daily blogging and reading schedule, I was engrossed in an interesting article when the calling bell rang. Most irritated I was at that point. It is not often I get free time by myself to write or read in peace these days. No choice but to get up and open the door.

I let the bell ring once more before I looked into the peephole to check who it was that had the audacity to break my reverie. The look of the guy almost scared me. He was standing dangerously close to the door and I could see a good part of his neck and chin. When he moved back I noticed a parcel in his hand.

Curious as I was , especially since it was my birthday, I opened the door with a smile on my face. As soon as he saw me he gave a startled look. I couldn’t figure out what whether he had seen a ghost or whether I had forgotten to wear a top. I turned around to look at my image in the mirror at the hall entrance.

I giggled at the person’s plight. My hair was in a complete disarray, I had a face pack on my face and my glasses were almost falling off my nose. The height of stupidly is what I looked like. The thought that I hadn’t freshened up as yet as I was busy with replying to birthday wishes on my personal and my blogging Facebook accounts , hadn’t crossed my mind before I opened the door!

The situation was beyond repair anyway. So I went ahead and started the conversation.

Me : “Is that for me?”
He : Err… Are you —– ——- ?
Me : No! That is the third door on the right in this side.
He : Err.. Sorry for disturbing you. Thank you!
Me : It’s ok. ( I smile)

I couldn’t control my laughter till I closed the door and burst out laughing to the horror of the poor guy. This is going to be an interesting day for him for sure, I thought. I am sure this was the first door he has knocked on today.

Brushing aside the giggling and the embarrassment of both , looking like a ghost and not actually getting a birthday courier, I went about doing my jobs for the day. A few hours from then, the calling bell rings again. This time I made sure I looked my birthday best before opening the door. And it is a good thing I did. It was my forever complaining forever courier receiving neighbour. Yeah, the one that got a courier gift on MY BIRTHDAY.

She came in and we had a bit of chat. She wished me and went I to the kitchen to get tea and snacks for her. She excused herself during the time and said she will be back in a few minutes. I was back on my sofa with the tea set in front of me waiting for her to return. When she did, there was a box in her hand and a smirk on her face. The same box that was delivered to her in the morning!

I was surprised to see a parcel with my name on it when she opened the box. My husband had deliberately planned this. The initial disappointment and then the present happiness. The neighbour and the courier guy were in on this prank. Right then the husband walks in with a bouquet in his hands.

Tring… Tring… Tring.. Huh? What’s ringing now? I open my eyes to the sight of my phone ringing. It was my mom calling to wish me a “Happy Birthday”. Soon after that the alarm goes off too. I woke up to a cool yet bright Birthday morning from a wonderful , non happening but highly pleasing Birthday dream.

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

Write Over the Weekend theme for this week

This time your entry must contain, ‘I was surprised to see a parcel with my name on it.’

NaBloPoMo December 2013

20 thoughts on “Package Delivered

  1. “whether I had forgotten to wear a top” – You got me here, rolling. Sure hope you had washed you face before hugging your husband a thank you. 😀
    Effortless writing, yours. And this here is a creative take on the prompt.

    Like

  2. Lovely post it is… 🙂 A dream about surprises is even more surprising… 🙂 First timer at your blog and would love to visit it again and again… You’ve got an awesome virtual world…

    Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

