On the Menu

21 Comments
Festival of Words

Festival of Words

Life was much simpler when all I had to worry about was cooking food for just the two of us. We were happy with rice gruel even for dinner. Or maybe just a vegetable soup!

Now everyday is a struggle to decide what to cook for dinner. Four people, four choices. We were a family of five. My father and we three sisters were quite happy with whatever my mom decided to place on the table. Am I spoiling my kids giving them such choices?

And by choices I mean the set of restaurant menus I collected over the years!

Written for theΒ Second Festival of Words at Write Tribe – Day 2 –Β Food.

vecchio libro con stilografica

NaBloPoMo December 2013

21 thoughts on “On the Menu

  1. Restaurant menu at home!! You are awesome, my kid will love you! And here, we have Hitlerish rules : Whatever is cooked has to be eaten and whatever is in the plate has to be finished! πŸ˜›

    Like

  2. I have a shelf full of take-away menus. While I have always felt guilty to see them there, they have been the big bundle of joys unknown to my kitchen, or my culinary skills. My family loves them. But they love my cooking too, since it comes once in a blue moon. πŸ˜€
    Love the twist in the tale. πŸ˜€ And good to know there are more like me. Comfort in numbers. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Hmmmm that’s a thought. We don’t have too many menus but I do end up catering to varied tastes simply to avoid tears. Not a good thing in the long run. We’re making our kids choosy and finicky. You should have seen the things we were made to eat in our joint family of grandparents. My kids would freak. Food for serious thought.

    Like

  4. I wouldn’t mind a few menus πŸ˜› But prefer home cooked food πŸ˜€

    Frankly, after seeing the snaps of your Onam offering, that’s much more appetizing than McDonalds πŸ˜‰

    Time to throw away the menus, Jyo πŸ˜‰ or hide them for awhile atleast.

    Like

  5. You have asked a very interesting question. Really are we doing this to our kids? Coz I remember my mother would always not give us a choice and I think I might be more relaxed with my kids… Will it be okay?

    Richa

    Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

