Cut the Cloth

26 Comments
Cut the Cloth

Cut the Cloth

It was 28th December and we still didn’t know what we were doing for New Year’s Eve! I guess there is a first time for everything in life. As the usual custom, my sisters and I plan up something for the 31st night. Something different from the year before. This is done mostly before Christmas. But December 2013 was not an ordinary December. It was more or less like the moon’s surface. Not at all smooth!

Our brilliant investments before the recession hit, had come to an “impossible to handle” situation. There is a saying that goes something like, “There is no gain without any pain.” Whoever said that must be shot dead! Where is the gain after all the pain I went through for years!

Well, there was no gain per say. But we did cut out our losses. “Cut the coat according to cloth”, I have no idea who said it. But this was something that my dad used to repeat time and again to us. Desire only things that are possible. And if you must desire something out of reach, then you must plan well towards it. Not jump into it with your eyes, ears and brains closed!

Some foolish decisions later , we have come to our senses. Nothing matters more than happiness and peace of mind in the house. Comparisons can stay on FB and cocktail parties. Life is lived in living rooms and bedrooms not on FB or cocktail parties! Finally , Dad’s words have sunk in. But does this apply to everyone? I have seen people make investments and come out victorious and I have seen people fall flat on their faces. So where is the list of correct way of doing investments and savings? I am guessing there is none!

All anyone does is make well thought out and planned decisions, stick to the plan and hope nothing goes downhill. And if we are lucky enough, nothing will. But if we are like me, then everything that can go wrong will go wrong. So for people like me I have the best advice I can give. That too free of charge. “Cut the coat according to cloth”. That is the mantra of my kind of life.

It is said that we should save at least half of what we earn. Save it up for a better retired life. I think all I need is cash during my retired life. I don’t want to run around collecting rents or looking for people to buy the property that I have carefully invested in. I prefer having a bank balance that will be enough so that we can live off its interest every month and a home to live in. Maybe go on a holiday once in a while. Is that too much to ask? But if I save up every penny in the hope that I will travel more in my old age, how wise would that be? Especially since there is no guarantee for life. Is there?

This isn’t the best way to start a new year on the blog. But this is the only way I know. Learning from the past and moving towards a better future. Where mistakes will not be repeated and thus decisions will not be regretted.

What is that one major thing that the events of 2013 has taught you? Would you like to share it here?

On a brighter note, Happy New Year to everyone. 😀

Happy New Year 2014

Happy New Year 2014

P.S : The cake was yummy. 😀 

Picture Courtesy : Cross connection and What My Camera Captures. 🙂

26 thoughts on “Cut the Cloth

  1. Long ago my uncle said to me – earn 100 spend 99 happiness, spend 101 misery I’ve followed that ever since and it has served me well. As for investments – if you track them on a regular basis you’ll never see the gain. Invest then forget about them. In the long run there will be gain. Wish you a spectacular 2014.

    Like

  2. This is the perfect blog to start the new year. Cut the cloth according to the coat is a wise saying . Plan your expenses taking into account your income , recession , saving for a rainy day.

    Like

  3. Be optimistic about the future, spread your investments into retirement investments and quick growing speculative investments. That way your investments will earn money while some part of it will be left for your old age as well 😀

    Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

