Why I love Airports?

24 Comments
Heathrow Airport

Heathrow Airport

As a child (not many years ago), I used to be fascinated with the place called an “Airport”. I had no idea how an aeroplane flew from Dubai and landed us in Mumbai. It was a mystery for a very long time. But even when the mystery of Aviation was revealed to me, the wonder and fascination of the airport remained intact. Even when the frequency of travel changed from once in two years to at least three times a year.

The earlier flights to Kochi were through Mumbai. The direct flight to Thiruvanthapuram was generally avoided because of the tiring drive to Palakkad. My uncle used to come to pick us up in his mighty white Ambassdor car. His jokes were a class apart. I have never seen or been with either of my grandfathers. This particular uncle was old enough to be my grandfather. In many ways I always considered him that.

The trip in those days was to meet our relatives and friends back in Palakkad and spend the two summer months in the cool Kerala rains. These days trips are about exploring the world. I love to travel. My first venture out of India was at the age of 5. But that was homeshifting and not travelling. I guess I can say that my first actual HOLIDAY tour was to Singapore/Malaysia back in the year 2001. My kids were 4 and 2 years old back then. Since that trip, we took a long gap (till 2010)Β from such holidays and began exploring the various parts of India instead. The kids were too small to handle such long travels abroad. In fact my son, who generally had no problems like vomiting, had a tough time on board the Singapore AirlinesΒ flight that day.

The Dubai airport has a special place in my heart. I have been coming here every year of my life since the age of 5. I have seen it grow. Yet, the fascination of the airport, be it in any part of the world, makes me feel like a child again. Ready to explore and learn something new.

Today, I embark on one such long pending tour. We are at present at the Heathrow Airport, Terminal 3, London , waiting to board our flight to Newark International Airport, New Jersey, USA. My first trip to the continent of North America.

24 thoughts on “Why I love Airports?

  1. Jyothi, Welcome to USA. I am glad to found you back…few months back both your blogs lost valid links…I lost you..Other day I was checking on my bloglovin account and found your blog again. You are entering USA on a very special day…July 4th. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. One look at the title of your post and I had to read it. I too am an airport lover. Travel stresses me out but once the formalities are done I just love to sit and watch the bustle. As the kids grow older it’s getting easier and much more fun to travel. You have fun.

    Like

  3. As a kid, I was fascinated by planes and one would flew above the sky, would run out of the house and wave..remember going to the airport first time..such a thrill..m in awe of Dubai but also the new Delhi airport:)

    Like

  4. I love airports as well, having spent a lot of time in them since early childhood. πŸ™‚ You described the feeling well! Welcome to North America. You have arrived just in time for all the July 4th festivities in the U.S.A. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Your old travels are very similar to my own πŸ™‚
    From Dubai to Mumbai… Stay at Centaur Hotel ( I think it was transit) and then from Mumbai to Trivandrum. Then a train from there for us back home… so many memories of those days.

    Like

  6. Ah! So this explains the Missing in action part:) I see you on FB now – so that’s a given that you are back. Hope you enjoyed the trip. As for Dubai airport – I’ve been seeing since I was 1 month old. And Heathrow – For 8 plus years, I was a regular customer there too.

    Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

