A small one

18 Comments

My mom grew up in a farm where everything was home grown. Well, almost everything. Some of the vegetables that my aunt used to pluck from the garden and cook for us, during the vacations in our ancestral home in Palakkad ,were mouth watering delicious. She was a very good cook too.

I still remember those “cheena mullaku” chutneys she used to make for breakfast. AΒ strong chilly flavour packed into those ever so tiny chillies. The flavour, the smell and its combination with soft, white melt in the mouth idlis is truly unforgettable. During the initial years of shifting back from Dubai to India, my mom had managed to grow those at home here in Thrissur. But the plant dies off soon. And we are left with only memories of that flavour. The “look a likes” in the supermarket these days don’t even taste quarter as good!

Why am I talking about those tiny, adorable highly spicy chillies? Well, I am at my parents’ Β home right now on a short break. That too alone, without my family. This house is packed with memories of my college life as it was built during my first year of college. In fact, I left the day after the house warming Β to join the hostel and start my second year in college.

Yes, that was in back in 1993. A very long time ago. My mom’s garden has undergone many changes since then. Today I went ahead and clicked a few pictures of the area surrounding this house. The small garden at the back of the house is definitely the highlight. So sharing those pictures here. Collecting memories, I guess.

Out of Focus Ash Gourd

Out of Focus Ash Gourd

Ash Gourd again

Ash Gourd again

One Bunch of Bananas

One Bunch of Bananas

Two bunches of Bananas

Two bunches of Bananas

Okra

Okra

String Beans

String Beans

18 thoughts on “A small one

  1. Your pics make me miss home so much! My Dad always make sure that he plants plantains, tapiocas, something or the other!! πŸ™‚ Yu have a lovely theme, Jyothi. It’s funky!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Great photos, Jytohi! I don’t do any veggie gardening now but remember how I used to enjoy doing it when we lived elsewhere. Maybe I will start something soon, much smaller scale, but it is fun gathering fresh tomatos and chillies, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ Thanks for this delightful post!

    Like

  3. makes me want to buy a ticket and go home .. beautiful pics and fresh veggies there πŸ™‚ thank you for sharing ..
    even i have grown some in my little garden tomatoes and beans and green chillies ..

    Like

Please do leave a Reply :)

